Posted by: bkdsignature | July 11, 2009

Advertising and Promoting


One of my next goals for myself and my crafting is to start finding ways to promote myself.  Sales are not really happening for me so I need to find some ways to spread the word about my love for handmade.  To start off, I need to find some inexpensive ways (or free!) to get myself out there in the public eye.

This blog post will be updated periodically as I discover these various means of promotion.  Feel free to check back in so you can check out these sites as well for promoting yourself.

1. Last night I joined The Handmade Highway.  This looks like a revolutionary new way for me to become known.  This project looks like it receives a lot of views.  Her other projects are big deals as well, like Find A Feature.  I’ve already found some great ways to promote myself on there because it allows you to submit your work for features and make connections with others for free.

07/12 UPDATE: If you sign up for THH and refer me, I get free advertising!  Please and thank you! 🙂

2. Free Top 100 sites – joined this morning with a UWIB member.  Not sure what it is, but apparently it’s a big deal.  It’s free so it doesn’t  hurt to try!  (see link in sidebar)

3. Found Handmade.  I’ve stumbled upon this before, and last night fellow Cali Chit Chat members linked their special going on.  I *think* this is a popular site so I might give it a try.

4. Project Wonderful – just signed up tonight.  I’ve heard great things about it so I’m going to start with the cheap stuff.  I’ll see if any of my Etsy/UWIB friends have ad space for cheap through it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

