Posted by: bkdsignature | July 24, 2010

Keeping Up With the Trends


I’m not one for keeping up with the trends as sent out by Etsy’s Merchandising Desk.  Whatever Chiyogami paper I have on hand is what I have to use.  They may or may not fit the trends and there’s not much I can do about it.  But a conversation with an Etsy friend the other day got me thinking: start paying attention to the color tags.  I may not be able to fit the themes and patterns, but colors I may be able to do.  So I’m giving it a shot by tagging my newbies with the trending colors.  We’ll see what happens.  When I start adding sewn items to my line, then that will be more relevant and I can start reading more carefully.

On the other hand, I am still gathering wonderful advice from fellow artisans.  This month at 2nd Sat, I got some great constructive advice from a fellow crafter on how to improve the appeal of my booth.  I tried her advice on how to display my rings, and what she said would happen certainly did!  So we’re going with that.  And today, I met a wonderful jewelry artist who gave me some great pointers on trendy items right now.  So I’m going to be testing out some new graphic themes and we’ll see what happens!

Leave a Reply

Categories

